our 2022 authors

We are thrilled to have the following slate of authors for our November event. 

2019 - PHOTO - BEETNER, ERIC.jpg

Eric Beetner

Eric has been called “The 21st Century’s answer to Jim Thompson” (LitReactor). He is an International Thriller Award nominee, a Shamus nominee, and a three-time Anthony Award nominee. Eric has written 21 novels including All the Way Down, Rumrunners, and The Devil Doesn’t Want Me. His award-winning short stories appear in over three dozen anthologies. He co-hosts the podcast Writer Types and the popular Noir at the Bar reading series in Los Angeles.


mike befeler

Mike is the author of Paradise Court, Unstuff Your Stuff, Death of a Scam Artist, and the Paul Jacobson Geezer-lit mystery series, twice finalist for The Lefty Award for best humorous mystery. After a thirty-nine-year business career, he retired into writing. He grew up in Hawaii, lived in Boulder, Colorado, and currently resides in Lakewood, California, with his wife Wendy. When not writing, Mike can be seen taking his grandson to the park.



Bio to come

lance charnes.jpeg

lance charnes

Bio to come

2019 - PHOTO - COYLE, MATT.jpg

Matt coyle

Matt is the author of the Rick Cahill mysteries. He knew he wanted to be a crime writer at age twelve when his father gave him Raymond Chandler’s The Simple Art of Murder. His books have won the Anthony, Ben Franklin Silver, Foreword Reviews Book of the Year Silver, and San Diego Book Award, and have been nominated for the Macavity, Shamus, and Lefty Awards. Matt lives in San Diego with his yellow Lab, Angus.



J.C. combines street savvy and police department intrigue based upon true stories from a varied career with 40 years of law enforcement experience. He currently teaches at various colleges and is the founder of The Vollmer Institute, dedicated to education in forensic science and polygraph training. His debut novel, Coward, Crooks, and Warriors, received five-star ratings, and his latest, Twenty-Three Minutes, is just out. He resides in Southern California with his wife, Sandra.

ryburn dobbs.jpeg

ryburn dobbs

Bio to come

rich ehisen.jpeg

rich ehisen — moderator

Bio to come


dave freedland

Dave is a 34-year decorated law enforcement professional having served with the Irvine Police Department, where he served as a SWAT team leader and commander for over 25 years. He retired at the rank of Deputy Chief and currently holds a 6th-degree black belt in Japanese Shotokan karate. His first novel, Lincoln 9, was Oak Tree Press’s bestselling book on Amazon. His second book, The Pepper Tree, was published this year.

Neal Griffin Headshot non uniform.jpg

neal griffin — moderator

Neal is a veteran cop and graduate of the FBI National Academy. His third and latest novel, By His Own Hand, was published in May 2018, of which Tami Hoag wrote, “With crackling dialogue, dead-on police procedures, and a smart, feisty heroine in Detective Tia Suarez, Neal Griffin delivers.” His fourth book, The Burden of Truth, will be published in Spring of 2020 and will be Neal's first novel set in Southern California.

Chris Hauty_Photograph by Lauren Ehrenfeld.jpeg

chris hauty — speaker

David has authored four books in the Duncan Cochrane political mystery series, each inspired by a crime during his childhood in Chicago. The latest, They Tell Me You Are Cunning, released in 2019, derives from the false convictions of ten men on Illinois’ death row. Like all his books, David is inspired by efforts to right criminal injustice. He has also published more than twenty short stories, including five from a collection about the Navajo reservation.

2019 - PHOTO - HIRSCH, PADDY.jpg

paddy hirsch

Paddy is a journalist, broadcaster, and former British Royal Marines officer. He currently works for the NPR podcast The Indicator from Planet Money. The Devil’s Half Mile, a historical thriller set on Wall Street in 1799, is his first novel. The sequel, Hudson’s Kill, comes out in September 2019. He is also the author of Man vs Markets, Economics Explained, Plain and Simple, a book that uses humor to explain how Wall Street works.

2018 - PHOTO - JOE IDE.jpg

joe ide

Bio to come

steve jackson.jpeg

steven G. Jackson

Bio to come

steven mack jones_edited.jpg

stephen mack jones — speaker

Bio to come

2018 - PHOTO - LES KLINGER.jpg

leslie s. klinger

Leslie is the New York Times–bestselling editor of the Edgar-winning New Annotated Sherlock Holmes and the Edgar-nominated Classic American Crime Fiction of the 1920s, annotated by Klinger. He has also edited two anthologies of classic mysteries and, with Laurie R. King, four anthologies of stories inspired by the Sherlock Holmes Canon. He is former president of the SoCal chapter of the Mystery Writers of America and lives in Malibu, California.


S.A. (Saul) lelchuk

Bio to come

ralph pezzullo.jpeg


Ralph is a New York Times–bestselling author, award-winning playwright, and screenwriter. His books have been published in over twenty languages and include Jawbreaker, Inside SEAL Team Six, The Walk-In, Plunging into Haiti (winner of the Douglas Dillon Prize for American Diplomacy), Zero Footprint, Left of Boom, Ghost, and the SEAL Team Six thrillers Hunt the Wolf, Hunt the Scorpion, Hunt the Falcon, Hunt the Jackal, Hunt the Dragon, and Hunt the Viper.



James is the author of the multi-award-winning Surf City Mysteries and two-time recipient of the Pacific Northwest Writers Conference Award for Fiction. He is currently working on the sixth, Remains to Be Seen. His most recent other works are Crashpad and Buzzkill, two historical novellas set in the 1960s at California State University, Long Beach. Kirkus Reviews called Buzzkill “A historical thriller enriched by characters who sparkle and refuse to be forgotten.”

2019 - PHOTO - PUTNAM, DAVID.jpg

david putnam

David is the author of the Bruno Johnson series, of which the most recent is The Innocents. He comes from a family of law enforcement and always wanted to be a cop. During his career, he did it all: worked in narcotics, served on FBI-sponsored violent crimes teams, and was cross-sworn as a US Marshall, pursuing murder suspects and bank robbers in Arizona, Nevada, and California. He lives in Southern California with his wife, Mary.

kwei quartey.jpeg

kwei quartey — speaker

Kwei is a Ghanaian-American physician and author of the Inspector Darko Dawson series and the new Emma Djan, PI, series, both set in Ghana. His first novel, Wife of the Gods, won a National Book Award and was also a Los Angeles Times bestseller. Library Journal calls his latest, By His Grace, “vividly depicted.” Kwei is an avid horse rider who lives in Pasadena but visits Ghana frequently to research material for his novels.


robert rotstein

Robert is a lawyer and author of the legal drama We, The Jury (Blackstone 2018), a USA Today bestseller and a Suspense Magazine 2018 Book of the Year. With James Patterson, he wrote “The Family Lawyer,” the title story of the New York Times bestselling collection. His other novels include Corrupt Practices (2013, Booklist starred review); Reckless Disregard (2015, Kirkus and Booklist starred reviews), and The Bomb Maker’s Son (2015). He lives in Los Angeles.

Connor Sullivan_Photograph by Mariafe Ponce.jpeg

connor sullivan — speaker

Bio to come


phoef sutton

Phoef is a New York Times–bestselling novelist, television writer, and playwright whose work has won two Emmys, a Peabody, a Writers Guild Award, a GLAAD Award, and a Television Academy Honors Award. His first two Crush novels were Kirkus Best Mysteries of the Year. He is also the co-author, with Janet Evanovich, of two New York Times bestsellers, Curious Minds and Wicked Charms. Sutton lives with his wife and daughters in South Pasadena, California.

carl vonderau.jpeg

carl vonderau

Bio to come

don westenhaver.jpeg

don westenhaver

Bio to come